After preparing for nearly half a semester, the time has finally where we are ready to conduct our interviews with our participants.  I was both excited and extremely nervous at the same time, going into a strangers flat and filming them is not something I tend to do everyday.  I did feel slightly at ease though, I had prepared all of my questions, practiced using the camera, brought the consent form and the information sheet, but the best reassurance of all was that I knew my participant was a fellow Potterhead.  Before meeting for the interview my gatekeeper, the participants flatmate, informed me that after having looked at the generative research grids we sent out she shared my love for Harry Potter.  I knew from that point we could get along.

Turning up at the flat was pretty awkward but we eased into conversation as I gave a copy of the information sheet, consent form and the interview questions over to her.  Whilst she was busy reading the sheets it gave me the perfect opportunity to attempt to assemble the tripod at lightening speed.  She was finished reading before I got the camera attached to the tripod… but i tried.  After a brief overview of the plan for the interview I asked Jill to give herself a small introduction to the camera stating her name and course and from there we began the questions.

I began by stating my research question;

 ‘Has the way you use photography changed since coming to University?’

The rest of my questions then followed.  My participant was very good at answering the questions, she had a keen interest in photography and definitely showed it through her vast display of photos on her pin board.  Not wanting to waste anymore or her time I wrapped up the interview pretty quickly.  I asked if she would be keen to make her own generative design grid and she agreed to send me some photos so that I could make one up for her.

After having thanked the participant for taking the time to be a part of my project I left their flat contentedly feeling excited to begin the editing process.  Using an affinity map to gain my 5 insights and a storyboard to develop a structure for the video, I began to create the final piece.  If you’re interested to see how it turned out, here’s a link to the finished video.